VMware Cloud Community
trevor12087
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Help trying to speed up Get-Harddisk by ScsiCanonicalName

I'm working on a small script that will eventually be used to remove RDMs, but for now just for testing purposes I'm only calling  Get-HardDisk.

My current code is as such:

Get-HardDisk -VM $vm -DiskType RawPhysical |  where { $_.ScsiCanonicalName -eq $i.GKUUID}

where $vm is an object from a previous get-vm call and $i.GKUUID is the naa # from a CSV file.

I'm sure that my slow down is from this line, as even when the whole CSV file contains RDMs from only one VM, so that get-vm is only called once, the script still takes a very long time.

I'm pretty new to powerCLI in general, so I'm hoping that is a faster way to locate the HardDisk.

Here is the information I am provided with:

Action    ServerName              GKUUID                              GKHostDeviceName ESXCluster   GKDeviceName  ArrayName

Remove "vm name" 00000000000000000000000000000000 vmhba:CX:TX:LX "cluster name" 0000X VMAX-0000 \\.\PHYSICALDRIVE34

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mattboren
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hello, trevor12087-

One thing that comes to mind is the way in which you are getting the hard disk info for the given VM.  It appears that you are calling Get-HardDisk for each input line from the CSV.  You could optimize things by calling this cmdlet fewer times (say, one time per VM).  Then, store the VM's harddisk objects in an array, and _then_ get the desired info about each harddisk (disk name as found by ScsiCanonicalName).  That will be a more code (say, some Group-Object action), but should result in faster overall execution.