VMware Cloud Community
etcheverri
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Getting montly cpu contention value?

Hi guys , i am fairly new with powercli , i am trying to get montly value of cpu contention, by my understanding  with this script  (get the script from this forum) i get the average of today (maybe i am wrong):

$Cluster = 'clustername'

$stat = 'cpu.latency.average'

$CPU_contention = (Get-Stat -Entity $esx -Stat $stat -Realtime -MaxSamples 1 | Measure-Object -Property Value -Average).Average

$CPU_contention='{0:N1}' -f $CPU_contention -replace ",","."

$CPU_contention

i think i must replace  -Realtime for -Interval 7200 to get Historical Interval 3  , but i get the error that the hosts of the cluster doesen't have the cited statistics.

any hint , will be welcome

Martin

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

You are correct that Realtime doesn't get you the statistical data further back than approx 1 hour.
For going back one month you would be looking at indeed at Historical Interval 3.
But then the availability of the metrics depends on the Statistics Levels you have specified on your vCenter.

For the cpu.latency.average metric the required Statistic Levels are 2 or 3, where 2 only keeps the average and 3 also keeps the minimum and maximum.

Check the Statistics Level for Historical Interval 3 on your vCenter, it should at least be set to 2.

$si = Get-View ServiceInstance

$perfMgr = Get-View -Id $si.Content.PerfManager

$perfMgr.HistoricalInterval

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

You are correct that Realtime doesn't get you the statistical data further back than approx 1 hour.
For going back one month you would be looking at indeed at Historical Interval 3.
But then the availability of the metrics depends on the Statistics Levels you have specified on your vCenter.