VMware Cloud Community
scriptermad
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Explanation for some commands

Hi

I am new to poewrcli and will be working a lot with it over the next while. Can someone explain the following lines to me please ? If someone could put comments beside each line to explain the syntax in its entirety then that would be great. This is not just one script, its a mix of different lines that i dont understand

$folder = Get-folder $folderName | where {$_.name -eq $cell_id}    -------cell_id is an internal thing so ignore that

Write-host -ForegroundColor Green "Checking that Hosts are added by correct format"

ForEach ($VMhostname in ($folder | Get-VMHost -name $VMhost)| sort)

$VMhostname =[string]$VMhostname

if (($VMhostname -eq $Esxihost) -or ($VMhostname -eq $Esxihostb))

Write-host -ForegroundColor Green $VMhostname Added Correctly

Write-host $Esxihost $Esxihostb

}

else

{

$folder = Get-folder $folderName | where {$_.name -eq $cell_id}

{

$hostnameedit = $VMhostname.name.split(".")[0]

$dsname = $hostnameedit + "-Local"

Get-VMHost $VMhostname | Get-Datastore -Name * | Set-Datastore -Name $dsname

Get-VirtualSwitch -VMHost $VMhostname | Get-NicTeamingPolicy | Set-NicTeamingPolicy -MakeNicActive vmnic1

}

New-OSCustomizationSpec -Name $OSCostumSpec_VC -OSType Windows -AdminPassword $VMPassword  -TimeZone $TimeZone -ProductKey $WinProductKey_VC -ChangeSid -OrgName $OrgName -NamingScheme Fixed -NamingPrefix $VCVM.split(".")[0] -fullname Administrator -Workgroup WORKGROUP

ForEach ($VMName in ($folder | Get-VM -name $VMMac)| where {$_.PowerState -eq "PoweredOff"} | sort)

{

Start-VM -VM $VMName -confirm:$false 

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RvdNieuwendijk
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

PowerCLI and PowerShell commands can be read like English text. For example, the Get-Folder cmdlet retrieves one or more folders. Comment in a script can be started with the # sign. I will give comment to each line the first time it occurs.