VMware Cloud Community
mlurette
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Event and session information

Hey everyone,

I'm a complete noob at powercli and powershell in general. I was wondering if anyone knows of any documentation regarding events and sessions. This isn't very urgent, but for future reference I'd like to know where this information is kept, how to access it, and what exactly I'm accessing. Been playing a lot recently with get-(*xyz*) | get-member and looking at all the different properties and methods. When I read some of the posts on this site I think to myself "wow, how in the world did they know to look there?". Also, some event types have similar the same property names, so how do you specify where to query the information?

So, either everyone on here is a wizard, or there is some documentation out there that everyone is looking at without me. Any help would be much appreciated as it will make me look a little less stupid at work.

Thanks in advance,

Martin

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

There are 2 official information sources available, one is the VMware vSphere PowerCLI Overview, it contains the help for all the cmdlets, but also the description of all the properties in the objects returned by the PowerCLI cmdlets.

The second is the VMware vSphere API Reference.

This one contains all the vSphere methods and objects.

How to know which documentation to use?

As always It depends on what you are trying to do.

If the information you are looking for is available through a PowerCLI cmdlet, use the first reference.

If the information is not directly available from or through a PowerCLI cmdlet, in other words you have to use the ExtensionData property and the Get-View cmdlet, use the second reference.

In the PowerCLI Reference, shameless plug :smileygrin:, we have a chapter dedicated to the SDK/API, that goes into much more detail when to go for the 2nd option, and how to do that.