VMware Cloud Community
mdamda
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Command

I am new to vmware, I want to learn the command lines.

To manage vcenter we use PowerCLI which is a software to be installed and we can manage vcenter and esxi hosts using this powercli

To manage esxi hosts we can also use SSH client putty. Am i right? Wht else we have more.

I want to shutdown all virtual machines by login to esxi console, Please provide me the command and how to run on the esxi console.

12 Replies
jpsider
Expert
Expert

‌im not sure I understand your question Completely.

yes, you can use SSH if that is enabled on the Esx host. I don't recommend this.

i Do recommend powercli.

do you want to power off the vm's or shutdown the vm's?

0 Kudos
mdamda
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Shutdown the virtual machines,

0 Kudos
jpsider
Expert
Expert

Here is a quick and dirty script. You will need to enter your esx host/vcenter login information.

Be aware, this will shutdown any and all vm's on that host. No confirmation required.

connect-viserver <esxhost> <login info>

$vms = get-vm

foreach ($vm in $vms){

write-host Shutting down $vm

Shutdown-VMGuest $vm -Confirm:$false

}

0 Kudos
rdtechie
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Or do it like this, assuming you are already connected to a ESXi host, and by using the PowerShell pipeline (requesting only VM's which are powered on):

Get-VM | Where-Object -FilterScript { $_.PowerState -eq 'PoweredOn' } | Stop-VMGuest -WhatIf -Confirm:$false -Verbose

PowerShell Addict. Make it so lover.
0 Kudos
jpsider
Expert
Expert

Be careful with "Stop-VMGuest" as it may not "gracefully" shutdown the Guest vm. But I agree that checking to see if the vm is powered on first could save you some time.

rdtechie
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Stop-VMGuest is just an alias to Shutdown-VMGuest. So this behaviour should also be in Shutdown-VMGuest, or isn't?

0 Kudos
jpsider
Expert
Expert

crap, I missed the guest piece. I guess I only saw stop-vm. Sorry.

0 Kudos
rdtechie
Enthusiast