Automation

View Only
  • 1.  BIOS Boot option while creating VM

Posted Mar 16, 2022 04:39 PM

I'm a newbie to PowerCLI and I'm really interested to learn it.

So I started with the UseCase, to create a VM. Is there any chance to give the "New-VM" a use BIOS instead of EFI Parameter?

#Create New VM
    New-VM -Name $vmname -VMhost esx03.mydomain -Datastore esx03-local02 -NumCpu $cpuamount -MemoryGB $ramamount -DiskGB $hddamount -DiskStorageFormat Thin -NetworkName "VM Network" -CD -GuestId $guestid -Location Testing -ErrorAction Stop | Out-Null

# Use VMXNET3
    Get-VM $vmname | Get-NetworkAdapter | Set-NetworkAdapter -Type VMXNet3 -Confirm:$False -ErrorAction Stop | Out-Null

#Poweron VM
    Start-VM -VM $vmname -Confirm:$false -ErrorAction Stop | Out-Null

#Mount ISO
    Get-VM -Name $vmname | Get-CDDrive| Set-CDDrive -Connected $true -IsoPath '[esx03-local01] ISOs/Windows Server 2019.iso' -Confirm:$False -ErrorAction Stop | Out-Null

Thanks in advance.

• 2.  RE: BIOS Boot option while creating VM

Posted Mar 16, 2022 05:25 PM

Not with a cmdlet afaik.
    But you can use the API method.
    Something like this for example

• 3.  RE: BIOS Boot option while creating VM

Posted Mar 17, 2022 10:46 AM

Because of my rookie skills, I have to ask. How can I implement the API method to the code which I recently posted?

• 4.  RE: BIOS Boot option while creating VM

Posted Mar 17, 2022 11:29 AM
    When I put the Code into my 

New-VM -Name $vmname -VMhost esx03.irgnet.wtf -Datastore esx03-local02 -NumCpu $cpuamount -MemoryGB $ramamount -DiskGB $hddamount -DiskStorageFormat Thin -NetworkName "VM Network" -CD -GuestId $guestid -Location Testing -ErrorAction Stop | Out-Null # Changes on Datastore to my own
        Get-VM $vmname | Get-NetworkAdapter | Set-NetworkAdapter -Type VMXNet3 -Confirm:$False -ErrorAction Stop | Out-Null
        $vm = Get-VM $vmname

$spec = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualMachineConfigSpec