VMware Cloud Community
mctamz
Contributor
Contributor

Automated performance report on resource pools

Dear Experts,

I need to automatically generate a monthly performance report on the average and the maximum usage of the resource pool cpu, using PowerCLI.

I am new to this (PowerCLI and Powershell) so I might not be making much sense but here is my environment and what I want to do.

Environment

In my environment there is 1 vCenter Server, 3 clusters, about 5 resource pools on each cluster and several virtual machines. Lets say that the names of each cluster and resource pools are “cluster1, cluster2, cluster3” and “rp1, rp2, rp3…rp15”.

The statistic level on the vCenter Server is level 4 (all metrics) and 5 minute interval data is saved in the vCenter Server for 5 days. I need to retrieve data for the following counters.

“cpu.usagemhz.average" and "cpu.usagemhz.maximum" in a 5 minute interval. I am only interested in the aggregated data.

What I want to do

1. Retrieve data on a daily bases and export it to a csv file. (so that I can get a 5 minute interval data for one whole day)
  2. I only want resource pool cpu data which belongs to cluster1 and cluster2. not cluster3.
  3. When retrieving the data I want the “timestamp, value, unit, metricid, and entity” and sort it by timestamp in a descending order, but I don’t want all the metricid’s and entities to be mixed up either. (so I want all the cpu.usagemhz.average on rp1 in a timestamp descending order first and then all the cpu.usagemhz.maximum on rp1 in a timestamp descending order next, and then the same for rp2). something like below.

Header 1Header 2Header 3Header 4Header 5
TimeStampValueUnitMetricIdEntity
2013/3/7 00:00293MHzcpu.usagemhz.averagerp1
2013/3/7 00:05279MHzcpu.usagemhz.averagerp1
2013/3/7 00:10300MHzcpu.usagemhz.averagerp1

2013/3/7 00:00500MHzcpu.usagemhz.maximumrp1
2013/3/7 00:05550MHzcpu.usagemhz.maximumrp1
2013/3/7 00:10600MHzcpu.usagemhz.maximumrp1