VMware Cloud Community
osumatt32
Contributor
Contributor

Automate server deployment with PowerCLI

Hello,

I'm new to the VMWare world and PowerCLI.  We are working on a project that requires the creation of a few dozen servers.  We are currently cloning templates and manually configuring them, but there's obviously better ways to accomplish this.  My first attempt was to use PowerCLI and the Invoke-VMScript.  I have it configuring the NICs, setting the static IP, renaming the machine, activating windows, and joining it to the domain.  I've found that the Invoke-VMScript works about 60-75% of the time.  It will throw errors about waiting for VMWare tools, regardless of the VMWare tools state.  I've dug as much as I can and cannot get any solid answers.  The servers are 2012R2, so I'm wondering if it's a compatibility issue since it seems that only up through 2008 is supported.

I found another avenue to try, the OSCustomizationSpec, but I'd had even less luck with that.  Can anyone shed some light on what should be a fairly simple task?

Matt

0 Kudos
4 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

You should perhaps first try to determine what is causing the failures.

There are some logs available that might help.

• On the VM level: check the vmware.log files in the VM's datastore folder
  • Inside the VM: check the eventlogs.

Did you add some verbosity to your customisation scripts ?

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
osumatt32
Contributor
Contributor

I can't say exactly what's happening, but it seems that if you call a restart from within an Invoke script like below:

$pscript = 'Add-Computer -DomainName cloud.com -OUPath "OU=WSUS Managed,OU=Servers,DC=cloud,DC=com" -Credential $CC -Restart'

Invoke-VMScript -VM $NewSaaSSQLServer -HostCredential $HC -GuestCredential $GC -ScriptType powershell -ScriptText $pscript

you get all kinds of odd behavior.  I found that using the Stop-VMGuest and Start-VMGuest is a lot more reliable.