VMware Cloud Community
kthomas45
Contributor
Contributor

Adding a RAW disk to existing VM

I am new to Powershell and PowerCLI and I need to add a RAW device mappings to an existing VM.  I am running Vcenter 4.1.0 and ESXi 4.1. I have tried every suggestion I can find on-line and nothing seems to work.    I can find all the VM and Disk information but I can't get the new-harddisk cmdlet to work. 

Here  is the setup:

I am working on a replicated DR site.

When the disk is split and replication suspended the VMs lose their RAW device mappings and resets those to Virtual Disks.

I need to remove those Virtual Disks and reassign the appropriate RAW disks using the appropriate Virtual Device Node (SCSI(1:0))

It is not hard to do in Vcenter but its a pain when you have quite a few VMs to do. 

Any help would be appreciated.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
19 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

How do you determine the appropriate raw disk ?

Are the reset raw disks after the split on device node scsi(1:0) ?

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
kthomas45
Contributor
Contributor

LucD,

Thanks for responding.

I know the LUN ID already.  and that never changes I can look up the canonical name and if that also does not change I will always know that name/ID.

Yes, the reset has to take place after the disk set is split.  The re-establish/split process is what breaks the connection between the VM and RDM in the first place.  Does that make sense?

-K

0 Kudos
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

So I can assume that you a file (CSV ?) that contains the VM-Canonicalname link ?

Is the virtual disk to be removed always on device node scsi(1:0) ?

Perhaps you could include a screenshot of before and after the split ?

0 Kudos
kthomas45
Contributor
Contributor