VMware Networking Community
vmware3222
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

novice in vmware nsx

Hi

I'm a novice in vmware nsx ans i would like to configure an network with 3 hypervisors , 2 clients and one server (DNS, anti-virus...)

can i use  only one physical machine ?

i would like also to test a vmware nsx isolation

what tests i can do for demonstrate this isolation

Thank you very much

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ocecil
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

You sure can, just send me a private message if you run into any roadblocks. Good luck!

View solution in original post

16 Replies
NealeC
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Hello 3222,

Whilst it is possible to set up nested hypervisors and you could run NSX Manager alongside or also on those hypervisors on one physical server it would be very complex to set up and understand which layers traffic was passing at (mainly due to the nesting)

It would also have to be a very powerful single machine to accomodate the RAM requirements alone for

• 3xhypervisor 2GB absolute minimum plus whatever VMs you want to run on them
  • 1xNSX Manager 16gb
  • 1xNSX Controller (not supported but possible to use for testing) 4GB
  • 1xvcenter 10Gb
  • any DLRs/ESGs
  • any workload vms

The full details for requirements can be found here

VMware NSX 6.2 for vSphere Documentation Center

You could save some space by deploying on vcsa 5.5 and esxi 5.5 but not much and I wouldn't recommend doing much with 6.0/6.1 as so much has been fixed and improved in NSX 6.2

Hope that helps

-------------- If you found this or any other answer useful please consider the use of the Helpful or Correct buttons to award points. Chris Neale VCIX6-NV;vExpert2014-17;VCP6-NV;VCP5-DCV;VCP4;VCA-NV;VCA-DCV;VTSP2015;VTSP5;VTSP4 http://www.chrisneale.org http://www.twitter.com/mrcneale
RaymundoEC
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Hi there,