VMware Networking Community
jbabcock2017
Contributor
Contributor

VM's on separate tier networks cannot ping anything

I am new to nsx, trying to learn to prepare for cert test so this may be a somewhat newbie question to some. I have followed multiple guides online and spent a fair amount of time researching and troubleshooting before heading here for help......so I appreciate any help given.

My setup:

Internet <-> Edge Router Lite <-> Edge GW <-> DLR <-> Logical Switches <-> VM's

I followed this guide to the letter (except different ip's)

Intro to NSX - Distributed Logical Routing and Edge gateway with NAT — 4aero Blog

With this very basic setup (IMHO), I cannot ping anything from the VM's, not even their GW IP's of 10.1.10.1 and 10.1.20.1, etc

From my admin pc I can ping the Edge GW, DLR GW IP 10.1.100.1, etc but cannot ping VM IP's or their GW.

One point that has me scratching my head is I cannot ping the forwarding ip on the DLR of 10.1.100.2 from admin pc either (expected?)

All FW are setup to accept all traffic

I am really at a loss as to what to check next. I did research the DLR various interface types and ran the cli commands to see what was setup for interfaces and

I noticed the VDR interface which is supposed to be used for all LIF (logical switch) IP's does not show the IP's above (10.1.10.1/10.1.20.1) listed as documenation

describes should be the case. It only shows as being connected.

Here are the route tables:

EDGE GW:

pastedImage_2.png

DLR:

pastedImage_3.png

Any thoughts/suggestions of what to check next would be great.

Here is a simple diagram of what I setup:

pastedImage_0.png

0 Kudos
3 Replies
RaymundoEC
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

you paste ESG routes twice, will be nice to have the show routes on DLR.

basic checkup:

check FW rules on VM.

if ESXi is good on agents like routing (netcpa)

if ESXi, where that VM is consuming networking services, is prepared or has a dvPortgroup with the UUID of the LS you connect the VM