VMware NSX

View Only
  • 1.  NSX Application Platform Deployment Failed - 'Registration Failed'

Posted Jul 12, 2022 10:33 AM

I’m struggling to deploy the NSX Application Platform in our environment.   The deployment prechecks all pass, but the deployment consistently fails at the ‘Registering Platform’ step.  Admittedly I am a newbie when it comes to Tanzu and k8s, but hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I have deployed a Tanzu CE cluster, 3 control plane nodes and 3 worker nodes.  All meeting the spec required to deploy NSX intelligence (16CPUs, 64GB RAM, 1TB Disk).  Kube VIP + antrea is used for networking.

MetalLB has been configured to provide an entry point for the service name / fqdn.  It has been given a pool of 15 addresses, and I have configured 2 A records to point to the first two addresses from this range:

Service name - nsx-application-platform.domain.com

Messaging Service Name - nsx-application-platform-msn.domain.com

(To be honest, I’m not exactly clear what the ‘messaging service name’ is - it seems new with nsx 3.2.x - I’m also just taking it on faith that the deployment will somehow assign the correct IPs from the metallb pool, to correspond with the A records I have created…..)

For context, I’ve been using this chap’s guide, and found it very helpful - https://lumberjackwizard.com/2022/03/09/deploying-nsx-application-platform-part-six-metallb/

Aside from the obvious symptom / error of ‘NSX Application Platform Registration failed’ during deployment, the only other errors I can see are these, which occur on the metallb speaker pods

Events:

Type     Reason     Age   From     Message

----     ------     ----  ----     -------

Warning  Unhealthy  45m   kubelet  Liveness probe failed: Get "http://10.50.16.169:7472/metrics": context deadline exceeded (Client.Timeout exceeded while awaiting headers)