VMware Networking Community
seangadson
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Configure NSX (Host Transport Nodes Section)

Hello,

I was wondering if anybody has configured NSX (if I were to go through the UI Fabric -> Nodes -> Select the right vCenter and Host -> Configure NSX)on a host via API I am trying to figure out where the starting point is or any pointers to get started I am new with NSX.  My guess is that the Steps are to:

1) Create A transport Zone

2) Create an IP Pool:

3) Create Transport Network Profile

4) Create Transport Node: NSX-T Data Center API Guide

I am just wondering if this is the right process or if there is a simpler path

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AramAvetisyan
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

the procedure would be:

1. Deploy NSX manager OVA

2. Add Compute Manager

3. Deploy 2 more NSX manager nodes.

4. Create Uplink Profiles (or use defaults)

5. Create NIOC _rofiles (or use defaults)

6. Create transport Zones

7. Create IP Pools for TEPs

8. create Transport Node profile(if you use vSphere esxi clusters)

9. Assign that profile to vSphere cluster to prep the hosts.

10. create segments

11. deploy Edge node VMs

12. create Routers.

etc..

Procedure might change depending on environment specifics. liek for example if you need to move your vmk interfaces to N-VDS as well.

If you are going to use Ansible, VMware guys have already automated this all for you, so you can just use examples from there: ansible-for-nsxt/examples at master · vmware/ansible-for-nsxt · GitHub

If your goal is to write all this manually using REST calls, then good luck, you will have to do a lot of API guide reading Smiley Happy

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution