VMware Communities
maigre
Contributor
Contributor

sharing files between ubuntu 7.10 and host

I have a Ubuntu 7.10 installation that I got as a VM that seems to be running fine. A simple question, I think. How do I share files between it and my OS X host?

I'm a Fusion and VM newbie, so please excuse me if the answer should be obvious. I'm a quick learner, though. :smileyblush:

0 Kudos
6 Replies
rcardona2k
Immortal
Immortal

First you need to enable Shared Folders in Virtual Machines > Settings > Share Folders. Use the + symbol in the lower-left to add a new folder from the host. In Ubuntu (and most linux distros) the path to get to shared folders is /mnt/hgfs/ sharename

If /mnt/hgfs is empty you'll have to locate your VM's .vmx file make sure this line is changed from:

isolation.tools.hgfs.disable = "TRUE"

to

isolation.tools.hgfs.disable = "FALSE"

Changing this setting requires rebooting Ubuntu or restarting the VMware Tools.

0 Kudos
maigre
Contributor
Contributor

First you need to enable Shared Folders in Virtual Machines > Settings > Share Folders. Use the + symbol in the lower-left to add a new folder from the host. In Ubuntu (and most linux distros) the path to get to shared folders is /mnt/hgfs/+ share name +

Done. But then what?

I can get OS X to see the shared folder on the Ubuntu installation, but I can't connect to it. I don't seem to be able to enter a valid password and/or I get an error message about the alias in the Finder being invalid. If you're able to give me some detail about this, that would be great, but if not, is there a doc somewhere? I've been surfing around, but am not finding anything that's giving me the info I need.

0 Kudos
rcardona2k
Immortal
Immortal

Shared Folders is a two-way connection from within the guest, not the host. In Ubuntu, open the folder /mnt/hgfs and the shared folders you setup from the host should appear, for instance this is my Desktop folder in Ubuntu:

rcardona@ubuntu710:/mnt/hgfs/Desktop$ ls -l