VMware Communities
licensedtoquill
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

reinstalling or uninstalling or upgrading tools?

I just installed linuxmint 18.3 and as usual installed tools after install had finished. I am pretty sure it installed

I now get CANCEL TOOLS INSTALLATION grayed out in the Virtual Machine menu, on all subsequent reboots, which I thought was normal?

But I cant share folders in the host?? I can enable the folder on the host in SHARING but I get a message telling me I cant share until I install tools??

Is there an FAQ on reinstalling or uninstalling or upgrading tools please?

45 Replies
wila
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Hi,

FWIW, I have been using Linux for about 20 years and have plenty of text only linux instances running, nothing wrong with that, it just depends on your needs if it makes sense or not.

it is not up to me to decide what you run Linux mint for, everybody their own.

I was not talking about a Fusion GUI, but about the mint desktop environment which by itself is also a Graphical User Interface, that open-vm-tools-desktop depends on a desktop interface.

Sorry if I confused you.

--

Wil

| Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Fusion, VMware Workstation and Player |
| More info at vimalin.com | Twitter @wilva
SvenGus
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

My clean install experience of before was with the Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon Edition (but the specific desktop environment is probably irrelevant, in this case)...

BTW, did you install Linux Mint with the Easy Install option (which could explain the failure of automatically installing the VMware Tools)...? What kind of VM did you assign to Linux Mint (Ubuntu 64 bit, or something else?)...?

SvenGus
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution