VMware Communities
wnewell
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

can I restore files lost after a snapshot

I'm very new to VM fusion and working within a windows XP environment, I accidentally pushed the revert to snapshot button and it seems I've lost all data and emails for over three months. Is there a way to restore those files?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

I've lost all data and emails for over three months.

As you already said in another reply "Hard lesson learned" so you may want to take take this unfortunate opportunity to implement a backup scheme that involves backing up User Data, on a regular basis, from within the Virtual Machine to external media such as CD/DVD or Removable Hard Drive although my preference for long term storage is Optical Media and I just use external hard drives for short term use. FWIW I treat a Virtual Machine no different than a Physical Machine when it comes to backing up User Data and do it in the Virtual Machine the same way. This insures that I can maintain hierarchical folder structures and date and time stamp information and other meta-data associated with the files all of which which may not be important for some however one has to define their own needs. One can also backup the Virtual Machine Package to insure ones User Data is backed up however this requires lots of space and is not as practical a just backing up User Data by itself.