VMware Communities
bobc622
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Would a new Mac run W7 better

First off, I am not a techie so please answer in the plainest language possible and assume I know nothing. Thanks.

I am running a 24" iMac with 2.8 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo and am maxed out at 4GB of Ram OSX 10.6.7. I have looked ay my Activity Monitor and when VMWare Fusion 3.1.2 is running W7 and Quicken Home and Business 2010, I see as little as 35 MB Fee RAM. Does that sound right? On the Mac side I have Mail, Safari, a Weather program, Mobile Me synching automatically and the my Time Machine is backing up. These are apps that run at normal times and not always together.

Most of the the time, when I am using VMWare, the icon in my dock spends a lot of time with the little clock going round and round and I see the Mac symbol I call a spinning pizza popping up. When I try to force quit, I see VMWare not reponding, but wait long enough, and it finally suspends or restarts.

Questions:

(Caveat: I do not download a lot of videos, work with lots of graphics or music. I am just an old geezer that uses the Net, runs Quicken on both W7 and Snow Leopard 10.6.7 and might do some HTML editing now and then on the Windows side because that's where I learned to do a web page.)

With my present Mac, am I asking too much of VMWare?

Is there a routine I can use to alleviate this agonizing slowness or reaction to commands?

If I get a new Mac is there an 21.5" iMac offered that has faster processors that will benefit me.

Should I max out to 16GB RAM in the new Mac to assure good performance and speed?

Can anyone recommend exactly what iMac I should get ( looking forward to Lion) after seeing my usage?

Many thanks for trying to interpret these questions.

Bob

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
cmasters
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution