VMware Communities
squidge37
Contributor
Contributor

Wireless keyboard shortcut keys in Guest WinXP, not in host OS?

Ok, I've never used Macs before and I just made the big switch to a MacBook Pro, and I've got WinXP Pro running on Fusion 2.0. I have a Microsoft Wireless Comfort Keyboard and it mostly works, but the shortcut hotkeys don't to what I want them to do.

You can assign these shortcut keys to say "to go google.com" or "open Outlook" or whatever. But my problem is, when I hit a shortcut key, it thinks I'm talking to the Mac when actually I'm trying to talk to WinXP in Fusion. For example, when I hit the Calculator button on the keyboard, I want it to pull up the Calculator in WinXP.

I've got the Microsoft keyboard software installed in both the Mac and the Guest WinXP.

Anyone know how to do this? Or is it impossible to use wireless keyboard shortcut keys within Fusion?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
nut4wine
Contributor
Contributor

It's a little complicated. Look at the advanced users guide and you'll see the following explanation:

USB HID

You might have noticed that some USB devices, such as keyboards and mice, do not show up in the Virtual Machine menu or in the status bar. By default, Fusion screens out Human Interface Devices (HID) because if you attach your mouse/keyboard to a VM, you may have no way to get back out (shutting down the guest may work, and if you've configured Fusion to not automatically connect, unplugging/replugging should work, but if you don't have this set and the guest crashes, you're out of luck). A similar problem exists if you use a Bluetooth mouse/keyboard and attach the Bluetooth adapter to the guest - don't do that either!