VMware Communities
earthman
Contributor
Contributor

Why is Win7 VM in Fusion 4.1.1 (on SSD) so slow on MacPro 12 core?

I run ArcGIS 10 on a Win 7 x 64 bit VM, using Fusion 4.1.1 on a MacPro 64 GB, HDD (2x2TB) and SSD (2 x 0.5 TB). Mac Boot and Apps are on SSD1 running 10.6.8 (sweet!), VM is on other SSD2, Large Arc files/images are on shared folder in HDD.  VM is set for 4 processors, 8 GB memory and 2 TB virtual hard drive on 500 GB SSD.

ArcGIS startup and draw map is slow -  3x slower (30 vs 10 sec) than drawing the same map in a Win XP64 on my MacBook Pro running Fusion 3. WHY?

Is there something wrong or inefficient about the setup? I know the vdisk was set larger than hardware, but VMware won't let me change it (even though no snapshots). The whole shebang is also on active directory, which could slow it down. I'm not an expert Fusion/Windows user, but I have worked the google, the vmware knowlegde base and discussions to no avail.

Instead of shared folders, should I create a second, large virtual HD on one of the physical HDDs? If so how?

It's not in the documentation or help, and the discussions on this topic are unclear. Once a second VHD is created (according to the documentation), how do I move it to the second physical drive (undocumented)?

Or should I move the whole VM to the big HDD, create the large virtual drive there, and move commonly accessed rasters/files back to SSD2?

Or?

Your ideas would be welcome.

Ray

0 Kudos
7 Replies
ColoradoMarmot
Champion
Champion

What CPU is in your machine?  It sounds like you may be starving the host for resources.

0 Kudos
earthman
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for your question.