VMware Communities
M_Computer
Contributor
Contributor

What do you use Fusion for?

Hey all, I just wanted to do a quick survey to find out what you guys and girls use Fusion for, apart from running guest operating systems. What has the experience been like?

Cheers

Alex Mills

0 Kudos
19 Replies
bgertzfield
Commander
Commander

Myself, I'm very happy running Fusion to play games that don't exist on the Mac, like Bookworm Adventures, Magic: the Gathering Online, etc.

I also use it to upgrade the firmware on my cell phone, my GPS, and other various devices I have lying around that don't have drivers for the Mac.

0 Kudos
Speedbird
Contributor
Contributor

For the past 7 years I had used nothing more than Linux as my primary (and usually only) desktop, I've been a computer programmer and web app developer since I got out of college, recently I was "converted" (a.k.a. turned into a Mac user) and couldn't be happier, however I lost the flexibility AND EASE of setup and run my application development tools and servers (Python, Zope, MySQL, Postgres and several others), though they can run on the Mac, it is still a little bit cumbersome to get it to work right, Fusion glues everything together for me, my VM runs CentOS 4.4 flawlessly on my MacBook, and SILENTLY also, something I cannot say on running Parallels, for example, which boosts up my fan to 6000 RPM. So there you have it Smiley Happy

PS - I do not (or intend to) run Windows myself, it'll be like adding a green plush wheel cover to a Lexus.

\-- sb

0 Kudos
pjv
Contributor
Contributor

i bought my first mac in 1984 and i was a mac-only geek for a long time. then i got a job that required me to run windows because of various apps that do not exist for mac os, and due to the hassle of trying to integrate a dual digital life, i eventually succumbed to becoming a pc-only geek and lived that servitude to an inferior OS for a long time.