VMware Communities
nicoladonatiell
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VMware Fusion for Mac - I was not able to export a windows virtual machine

HI gurus,

I'm new with MacBook and i have installed and configured a windows virtual machine on vmware fusion (free trial for the moment)

For backup purposes i tried the following command:

./ovftool ~/Virtual\ Machines.localized/vm.vmwarevm/vm.vmx archive.ovf

The message i got is:

Opening VMX source: /Users/nicoladonatiello/Virtual Machines.localized/vm.vmwarevm/vm.vmx

Opening OVF target: archive.ovf

Writing OVF package: archive.ovf

Transfer Failed                      

Error: System error: (std::exception)

Completed with errors

What is wrong?

Thank you

Nicola

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
dariusd
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

I suspect that the "current directory" is not a place you can store files.

Try:

./ovftool --X:logFile=~/Documents/log.txt  ~/Virtual\ Machines.localized/vm.vmwarevm/vm.vmx ~/Documents/archive.ovf

Note the added ~/Documents/ before log.txt and another ~/Documents/ added before archive.ovf.

Adding the ~/Documents/ to the command will cause ovftool to write the files (both the .ova file and the log file) into your Documents directory instead of attempting to write them wherever you are running ovftool from.

Hope this helps!

--

Darius

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
nicoladonatiell
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I have tried to generate a log file using the following command:

./ovftool --X:logFile=log.txt  ~/Virtual\ Machines.localized/vm.vmwarevm/vm.vmx archive.ovf

i got the error message:

Error: Permission denied for file  : log.txt

Completed with errors

Thank you

0 Kudos
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution