VMware Communities
Tony030942
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

VMware Fusion 13 basic activation issue on Ventura 13.5.2

I am new to VM and am attempting to use Fusion 13 to run OSX 10.7 lion as a virtual guest.

I am considering using Virtual box as they offer clear instructions to go through the installation process. Advice on that point would be appreciated .

Call me thick if you like, but I cannot get a grip on the installation error I am making which causes Fusion 13 to tell me ‘No operating system found’. I am left with Boot Manager and no guidance

I have tried two .dmg; One: a complete operating system of Lion including all my account files and apps. Two: A .dmg of a Lion install file. Should I create a 10.7 system only, on an external drive and make a .dmg from that, free of other files and apps? Both are stored in a folder ‘Virtual Machines’ in my Home account but Fusion 13 obviously cannot use them.

Help and explanation would be gratefully received.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Technogeezer
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

You can't drop the Lion installer dmg nor a cloned dmg onto the "create a new virtual machine" dialog. Neither of those are bootable and that's why you aren't seeing anything boot. 

Apple in its infinite wisdom did not create a bootable installer for Lion. It only gave you a .dmg with an Installer package that you had to then run to install "Install Mac OS X Lion.app" into your Applications folder.

Further complicating things, if you are running a later Mac, Apple again in its infinite wisdom refused to let you install the "Install Mac OS X Lion.app" from the .dmg, saying that the application can not run on your computer.