VMware Communities
JoelMKatz
Contributor
Contributor

VMware Fusion 1.1.1 does not see my boot camp partition

I'm doing an evaluation of VMware Fusion trying to get it to work with an existing Boot Camp partition so that I can do embedded software development. (Parallels doesn't support some USB hardware that I am using, but it seems to work in VMware.) I'm running leopard on a 15" macbook pro. My boot camp partition is running Vista and I've been using it successfully for about 6 months.

When I run VMware Fusion, my boot camp partition does not show up in the VMware library. Following recommendations from an earlier post in this forum, I tried running vmware-rawdiskCreator print /dev/disk0, my boot drive, and I'm getting an error message "Unable to scan the partition table of /dev/disk0". (vmware-rawdiskCreator works fine on my external drive, so it's something different about my boot drive.) I've repaired permissions from within disk utility and I've rebooted the computer in safe mode and repaired the disk, but I've had no luck. I'm assuming that there is either corruption of or something non-standard about my disk configuration.

In the past, I was running MacFUSE and NTFS-3g, but I have un-installed both of them.

I'd really appreciate any advice that anyone can give me, or suggestions as to what I might try to get this working. It would really be a big improvement to my work processes.

0 Kudos
14 Replies
MandarMS
Expert
Expert

1. Quit all applications in Host Mac OS X

2. Open Terminal utility from Macintosh HD  Applications  Utilities folder.

3. Key-in the following command

$ sudo fdisk /dev/rdisk0

4. Preferrably take the screenshot of the output or Note down the output (for restoring MBR).

5. Key-in the following command

$ sudo fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0

setpid 3

Choose 07 (as the partition type)

write

Y

Restart your Mac System

For more details please check the example shown below:

$ sudo fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0 (this will help to change the MBR)