VMware Communities
henryos
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare Fusion Windows 10 really slow

Hi all, let me preface by saying I'm a complete tech noob and don't have much experience with emulators of background computer stuff. 

I run VMware Fusion 12 on my Mac (dual core i 5) with windows 10 as the virtual machine.  performance over the last couple of months has been ok but not amazing, but I only really need to run word and some non-cpu intensive programs on it.  over the last week it has been super slow, chrome pages (error not enough memory, i cleaned out the cache but didn't change much) and ms teams have been crashing constantly and i cant work with it anymore... please help!

0 Kudos
8 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Host CPU? (cores)

VM CPU configuration?

Host RAM?

VM memory configuration?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
henryos
Contributor
Contributor

its a dual core mac, i have it set to 2 cores on the virtual machine, and have split the RAM evenly between the host and VM at 4096 MB each 

0 Kudos
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Try reducing to a single CPU for the VM, it is usually best to allocate fewer CPUs/cores than you physically have available, not all of them.

What type of disk does your Mac have? That could also be a factor, I would have said mostly to boot Windows but it may also be making use of the pagefile with only 4GB of memory..

If the above CPU reduction doesn’t make a difference, your Mac might just not be powerful enough.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------