VMware Communities
Back2Mac
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare Fusion 6.0.2 won't load Windows 7 64 Bit "The system cannot find the file specified"

I have been running the latest version of OS X Mavericks and VMWARE Fusion 6.0.2.  The VM I am running is a Windows 7 64 Bit VM.  The physical machine is a mid-2010 27" iMac with 16GB RAM and 2.93GHz Quad Core i7.  I have been running this set up with little change for a couple months now.

I have been backing up to Time Machine, and recently had to have my hard drive replaced.  I hooked up my iMac with the new hard drive, and began the set-up process.  I used the Migration Assistant to restore everything from my Time Machine backup.  Everything re-installed great with a few small exceptions.

The biggest problem I have run into is with my VM.  It will not run.  I tried to open it, and keep getting the same error message in Fusion, "Unable to open file "/Users/XXXXX/Documents/Virtual Machines/Windows 7 x64.vmwarevm/Virtual Disk.vmdk":  The system cannot find the file specified"

I have checked the package contents of the VM, and everything looks to be in perfect order.  I can not figure out what could possibly be going wrong.

I have tried making a copy of the VM, renaming it, and launching that copy.  I get the same error.  I tried completely manually uninstalling VMWare Fusion and all associated Library files.  I got the same error.

I do't want to have to re-create my VM from scratch.  Someone, please help.

Thank you!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

To help figure out what is what, the best way to provide comprehensive diagnostic information is to use the "Collect Support Information" command from the VMware Fusion (menu bar) > Help > Collect Support Information and then attach the .zip file it created on your Desktop to a reply post.