VMware Communities
MacNuBee
Contributor
Contributor

VMFusion Zip Install

Hi Everyone,

As my name implies I am new to macs...so forgive me if this seems like a silly question. I have an ibook g3 and downloaded the VMfusion zip file to try the trial version of Fusion. After downloading the file and clicking the "fusiondemoVM.vmwarevm" What file do I click on to load the software?

Ther is a folder called "Ubuntu-7.10-32bit.vmx.ick" but when I click on it I am asked what program to open it with......I have no clue:-(

I will probably laugh at this in a few months, but for know, i would like to try the software before the trial period ends....can try it until i install it...LOL

Any help is appreciated....Thanks

MacNuBee

0 Kudos
6 Replies
DaveP
Commander
Commander

Well an iBook won't run Fusion. You need an Intel based Mac to do that. As forthe file you downloaded where was the url you got it from? It sounds like you downloaded an Ubuntu guest OS image.

0 Kudos
MacNuBee
Contributor
Contributor

DaveP,

I downloaded the file from www.vmware.com/go/fusiondemovm

(http://www.vmware.com/go/fusiondemovm )

What I was trying to do was run windows applications on the mac ibook

G3.....is there a way I can do that?

If the ibook does not have intel based chips.....what do they use?

I will be upset if this can't be done....I was told Mac could run windows

with the fusion software, that's why I purchased this Mac (used)...but my first

one.....so far I am not impressed......

Thanks again.....

MacNubee

**************Biggest Grammy Award surprises of all time on AOL Music.

(http://music.aol.com/grammys/pictures/never-won-a-grammy?NCID=aolcmp003000000025

48)

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

What I was trying to do was run windows applications on the mac ibook G3.....is there a way I can do that? If the ibook does not have intel based chips.....what do they use?