VMware Communities
qb59
Contributor
Contributor

Upgrade to Fusion 2.0 to 2.02 -- Software Reinstall?

I usually keep up with all software upgrades and I'm relatively tech savvy, but I'm new to VM and I really don't understand how an upgrade will behave.

I bailed out of an upgrade to Fusion 2.02 (from 2.0) on my IMAC running OS X because I was concerned by a message that led me to believe that 2.0 would be uninstalled before the upgrade. Forgive my cluelessness, but does that mean my existing Virtual Machine will be toast? Will I have to recreate it? What about the Windows licensed OS and software I have installed on the existing VM? Is it safe? Would I have to reinstall that? I really don't have time to recreate the whole VM environment (I also have worries about license reactivation issues).

I feel very ignorant.

Help? Reassurance? I'd turn back if I were you?

Thanks for any enlightenment you can offer.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
gbullman
Expert
Expert

Consider this analogy for Fusion and your VMs; Fusion is an application and the VMs are pretty much sophisticated data files, or documents if you prefer. So analogous to updating Word and not touching any of your Word documents the same thing occurs when you upgrade Fusion (your VMs are not affected).

Having said that, there are some precautions you want to take before upgrading Fusion.

1) Shutdown / Power Off all VMs before doing the Fusion upgrade.

2) I would strongly recommend doing a full backup of your powered off VMs by copying the .vmwarevm bundle to a backup location.

Note that for pretty much any upgrade of Fusion there is usually an upgrade of VMware Tools, so that install will try to happen as soon as you bring up a VM in the new version of Fusion. For major upgrades there can also be upgrades of the Virtual Machine Hardware so those will upgrades will start as well.