VMware Communities
jarheadpilot82
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Trying to connect my Canon camera wirelessly

First of all, thanks in advance from a new forum member to all who try and help me-

I will try to keep this short, so here goes. I own a canon SD 430 camera. It has the ability to wirelessly communicate between my laptop and the camera in order to transfer picture and to control the camera from the laptop (remote capture function). I am a realtor and use the camera to take elevated pictures of the properties that I represent, and it works great! I first used it with my iBook and it worked flawlessly. I upgraded to a MacBook Pro and sold the iBook. To my horror, I read the fine print and found out the remote capture software does not work with the Intel processor, only Power PC. Oops!

So, that is what brings me to VMWare Fusion. I have loaded the software and am running it under Windows XP. I am able to connect the camera via USB to Windows to do the initial setup. Under the software provided by Canon, you have the ability to connect the camera to the laptop via an ad hoc connection or through your wireless network (infrastructure). I can see the network in Leopard, and I have internet access in Windows via a NAT connection (you can tell I am not a IT professional from the way I use terms. My apologies, but I hope you understand what I am saying). But when I try to connect the camera to the wireless network or to the laptop directly (ad hoc), I am unable to do so as the camera is not able to see the laptop (ad hoc) or the network (infrastructure). I have tried changing the network settings in Fusion to Bridged or Host Only and that did not work either. Does anyone have any thoughts on how I can make this work?

I realize that unless you have this camera and the software it is not easy to fully understand, but I am merely looking for some advice. Any help is greatly, greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WoodyZ
Immortal