VMware Communities
Greg_C
Contributor
Contributor

Trouble setting up Shared Folders (BootCamp)

I'm relatively new to Fusion and am hoping someone can help me out setting up a shared folder. I'm running Fusion 1.1.2 using my BootCamp Windows XP installation and would like to share my Mac's Home Folder with the guest OS. I've added the Home folder as a Shared Folder in the Fusion settings menu, and checked the "Enabled" box. However, I'm having what seems like a strange problem with the general Shared Folders settings. When both boxes are unchecked and I then check Enabled and click Apply, the box unchecks itself. The same happens with Enabled at Power On. If I check both boxes and click Apply, Enabled unchecks itself but Enabled at power on remains checked. Hopefully someone can understand what's going on and tell me if I'm doing something wrong. I did try booting XP with Fusion and accessing the shared folder using
.host\Shared Folders\ in Windows Explorer, but I get a Windows error message saying it isn't accessible. I'd really like to get this working properly...thanks.

-Greg

0 Kudos
4 Replies
rcardona2k
Immortal
Immortal

Personally I find it better to avoid the check boxes and go directly to Virtual Machine settings > + > Add Shared Folder... It's not necessary to check "Enabled at power on" for most uses where you have to login to the guest first. Check the VMware Tools in the system tray under the Sharing tab and it will confirm whether Shared Folders is really active or not. If it says Shared Folders are configured, then in Explorer

\\.host\Shared Folders\<name>

will work.

Greg_C
Contributor
Contributor