VMware Communities
Hawkcode
Contributor
Contributor

Total Noob, Windows Preference Problem

Hi,

At work we just got an Ubuntu with Gnome server set up with BackupPC. Works great. We had outside help.

Now I want to learn Ubuntu so I installed Desktop version that I downloaded from here last night.

I installed it into a VMWare Fusion Virtual machine on my MAC. How ever there is one thing driving me nuts, In Windows Preferances I have no check in the "Select windows when mouse moves over them.

However the system acts as if that was turned on. I tried check/unchecking it No Help.

I checked it the rebooted, then unchecked it rebooted, No difference.

Anybody got any idea???? Thanks

Rich

0 Kudos
18 Replies
jonnymorris
Contributor
Contributor

This works fine for me in Ubuntu 9.10. One thing to remember is that while it will switch to the window so that you can interact with it, it won't automatically bring it to the front unless you also tick the box to Raise selected windows after an interval. I have used this setting in Irix and I ended up turning it off, I much prefer to just click on a window to bring it to the front instead.

Which version of Ubuntu and VMWare Fusions are you using?

0 Kudos
Hawkcode
Contributor
Contributor

Ubuntu 10.04 and Fusion the very latest.

I want to turn that behavior off also, but can't seem to. No matter what I do in the Window dialog I just cant turn this option off.

Perhaps there is some config file some where?

Thanks

Rich

0 Kudos
jonnymorris
Contributor
Contributor

I'm installing Ubuntu 10.04 now to see what it does for me.

Update: I am running VMWare Fusions 3.1.1 (282344) and have just installed Ubuntu 10.04, the window selection option you appear to be having trouble with works perfectly for me, there was no change after I performed an Ubuntu update.

I would suggest trying the install again in a fresh VM and see if it's still broken for you, if it is then try downloading the Ubuntu installer again.

0 Kudos
Hawkcode