VMware Communities
Paulv45
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

To Lion and Fusion 4

Looking around it seems like if I want to upgrade from Snow Leopard to Lion I also really need to go from Fusion 3.1.3 to 4.x.

Am I thinking correctly?

If so, do I go from Fusion 3.1.3 to 4.x first and then Snow Leopard to Lion or do I go to Lion first.

Here's what I am thinking.

1.  Backup system.

2.  Upgrade Fusion 3.1.3 to 4.x.

3.  Make sure system is stable.

4.  Backup system.

5.  Upgrade from Snow Leopard to Lion.

I'm a newbie at both of these updates so am a bit nervous.

Questions:

(A)  Is there a better process?

(B)  Is Backup via Time Machine sufficient or do I need to do special backups for virtual machines?

(C)  Should virtual machines make it seamlessly through this process and run fine when done?

(D)  Have a 4 GByte system.  Am I likely to be happy or sad when I am done?

Any thoughts appreciated.

Thanks.

Paul

0 Kudos
5 Replies
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hello,

Sounds like a very plausible way of going forward.

Some side notes.

Looking around it seems like if I want to upgrade from Snow Leopard to Lion I also really need to go from Fusion 3.1.3 to 4.x.

Am I thinking correctly?

Actually you can stick with Fusion 3.1.3 as it is reported to run just fine. see also this knowledge base article: http://kb.vmware.com/2003715

(B)  Is Backup via Time Machine sufficient or do I need to do special backups for virtual machines?

Umm.. no. Time Machine is about the worst method to backup your virtual machines and the VMware Fusion claim that you can use it with Fusion 4.0 by employing automatic snapshots is absolute marketing dribble. I stronly advise you to make full copies of your important VM's with the VM's properly shutdown (not suspend) and Fusion closed.

(D)  Have a 4 GByte system.  Am I likely to be happy or sad when I am done?