VMware Communities
tah2
Contributor
Contributor

Switched from Parallels to VMWare, but Autodesk inventor is super slow

I've been using Parallels for 10 years, but trying to switch over due to their crazy subscription model.

I've been using parallels for Autodesk inventor, and it is close to native speed. But on VMWare is it too slow to use. and the vmware-vmx process sucks 44% with inventor open and no activity (windows task manager shows 2%)

I've got plenty of RAM, CPU allocated. 3D acceleration is on.

Help!

Tags (1)
10 Replies
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

I've got plenty of RAM, CPU allocated.

Sometimes that causes the opposite of what you want to achieve.

If you assign too much RAM or CPU to the guest you might end up starving the host or make it difficult for the CPU scheduler to get enough cores available at the same time.

A rule of thumb: Don't assign more as half of available RAM and CPU that you have.

For CPU that means physical cores, not threads.

Depending on the hardware used and what you use at the host you might be able to assign more.

Also did you uninstall the Parallels tools?

--

Wil

| Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Fusion, VMware Workstation and Player |
| More info at vimalin.com | Twitter @wilva
0 Kudos
tah2
Contributor
Contributor

I'm not over-allocated,

I've given VMWare 8GB out of 24GB, and 2 Cores.

Parallels is the same. But VMWare is super slow. Parallels is native speed

Almost like there VMWare has no GPU acceleration. (On the other-hand undo is super slow too, so maybe CPU)

And why 42% CPU consumption while idle?

0 Kudos
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

You didn't mention if you uninstall Parallels tools.

In addition to that question, did you install VMware Tools?

Most likely both are answered by yes, but it is hard to troubleshoot anything if you have to make assumptions.

There's still not much info that has been shared for being able to deduce why you are seeing this.