VMware Communities
JohnAbrams
Contributor
Contributor

Sluggish Performance with Outlook 2007 on Win7 VM

Folks,

I'm new to this game, but I'd like to get the community's advice on my situation. Here's the system specs:

iMac, Intel i7 2.93GHz, 4GB RAM running Snow Leopard. Using Fusion 4 running Win 7 Ultimate in a VM with 1GB memory allocated and 1 processor core allocated. Anyway, the ONLY reason I have this is to run Outlook because I have 36 PST files (old email files) ranging in size from a few hundred K up to 6GB that I need to access periodically. These files are on the MAC host and are being shared to the Win7 VM through VMware's virtual file share.

Anyway, the performance, right now, is terrible. Minutes can go by waiting for Outlook to respond. Even when outlook isn't running, performance is mediocre.

I can think of lots of bottlenecks in this scenario, but I would like to get experienced guidance from you pls. Should I...

copy the pst files into the VM?

bump up memory allocation?

core allocation?

add more actual RAM to the MAC?

suggestions pls. no tomatoes.

thanks,

John

0 Kudos
5 Replies
SK9985
Contributor
Contributor

I can confirm these performance issues. I'm using Outlook 2010 and have the same issue since I upgraded to Fusion 4.0.1. I noticed that switching the emails is very sluggish. I suspect it has something to do with accelerated graphics rendering (which IE is doing inside outlook). IE is also very sluggish and unstable as well as certain Aero operations. Thumbnails and Aero peek sometimes even brings the display driver to crash. Glass is gone for a couple of seconds and then it is restored and Windows reports that the graphics adapter driver stopped working. It also happened twice to bring down windows and OS X completely.

I'm very annoyed by this and I hope they fix the Aero issue soon. I'm already thinking of switching back to parallels as they are much better performance wise to my experience...

0 Kudos
hs51dgs
Contributor