VMware Communities
asdasd123qd
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Share host VPN with guest

Hi,

I'm using VMware Fusion 12.0.0 (16880131) in macOS Big Sur Beta 10. In macOS (host), I'm connected to a VPN. I want to share the VPN connection with my Windows 10 2004 (guest), but this doesn't work. Internet connection is available but websites which are only available in VPN aren't. The guest network is connected via NAT. How can I archive the sharing or isn't this possible currently?

If you need any further information, please let me know.

Thanks!

49 Replies
AlishaMahajan
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

@Longstag I am facing similar issue with CiscoAnyConnect. These commands didn't work for me either. No luck.

0 Kudos
PimpaDev
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

@AlishaMahajan , @Longstag unfortunately I have no experience with CiscoAnyConnect, probably it do a different aproach to build up net network part of the VPN. Just installed F12.1.0 and for me the workaround is still working.

My only suggestion to hunt down the problem (but probably you've already done these or at least a part of these...):

1. stop any vpn, vm and check that the vm networking set to 'share with my mac'

2. start ciscoanyconnect vpn

3. start the vm

4. check the NAT rules -> should reset the sharing_v4 anchor so there's should be no any custom added part

5. check ifconfig for any unusual thing 🙂 -> ciscoanyconnect can build a different netinterface than utun or other bridge, than you should change the custom part of the solution

6. check 'netstat -rn -f inet' (this will print the routing table of ip4 addresses) -> to see every route you need is defined or just to see a big table of addresses 😀

7. in the VM check that you can reach the VPN local ip by pinging it (only the local ip could be reachd!) -> if you can't then there is something different than the "basic" case, so it needs an other workaround