VMware Communities
paylong
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Registration/Activation of all the softwares after transferring from a physical Windows XP machine to a Virtual Machine inside a MacBook?

Hi,

I am new to this field, and would like to transfer all my system (Windows XP Home Edition and all the applications/softwares installed within the system) in a physical machine (Acer 5670 Notebook) into a Virture Machine in a new MacBook (OS X).

(I know that will be problems using VMware Converter 3 on XP Home Edition, which was another question I posted on the VMWare Converter Forum.)

My questions are: (Either you use the VMware Converter to do the transfer, or start a new clean installation of Windows operation system)

How do you deal with the issues related to registration/activation of all the softwares after this kind of conversion?

How about the settings/options/favorites that you have set in individual programs before the conversion? Is there any way to keep them?

If you have multiple Virtual Machines, do you need to register/activate those softwares in individual Virtual Machine? (A lot of softwares only allow 1 or 2 registration...)

Best regards,

Paylong

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

> 1. If I start a new clean installation (Windows XP first, then individual softwares/applications), can I export some kind of preference/settings from the original system and then somehow import them to the VM?

That all depends on the Operating System, the target applications and what migration tool you choose to use.