VMware Communities
TheOrganizedOne
Contributor
Contributor

Recovering a Quicken file/data from a VMWare

Hi all, 

I'm new here and not sure if this is the place to post this. If not, can someone tell me where to post?

I am a small business owner and I had a Macbook that I was using VMware Fusion 10.1.6 (for Intel-based Macs) for my Quicken for the PC app. The drive crashed and both an Apple and a nonapple tech could not get the machine to boot back up to recover my 20 years of Quicken data. The computer has been recycled.

My goal is to recover my Quicken for the PC data/file and upload it to my new PC to continue my bookkeeping. I won't need VMware going forward.

I had that Macbook backed up using software called Carbonite, however, we are not sure if BOTH sides of the partitioned drive were actually configured correctly for a full backup. Carbonite helped me download some files from the backups they did have, but we are still unsure if these files contain what we need because we can't open them. The file names that look suspiciously hopeful are called Virtual Disk-s001.vmdk and Virtual Disk-s002.vmdk both having approximately 4,151,424 KB. There was 1 other folder with extensions of .lck and 1 other file with the extension of .vmem that could possibly be the files we are looking for as well.

Since that Mac computer died, I purchased a new HP to be able to continue using my Quicken for the PC app with my data without having to use VMware. I also use a 2020 MacBook Pro with Intel chip and iOS Monterey, 12.2.1 that I do all the rest of my work on.

When I click on the downloaded files from Carbonite with the .vmdk extensions on my new PC, it asks me what app do I want to use to open the file. I tried downloading the version I already owned from the VMware website: VMware Fusion 10.1.6 (for Intel-based Macs) onto my PC, but, yeah, that didn't work. So I downloaded it onto my new Mac.