VMware Communities
hondo21
Contributor
Contributor

Problem trying to run Windows XP Pro SP3 RC1 installed in Bootcamp Partition

My first post here. I am completely new to Mac and now VMWare Fusion, so I know little. Need a little guidance please.

Background: I recently purchased a new iMac (OS X 10.5.1, 2.8 GHz, 4GB RAM installed). I wanted to load my old retail Windows XP Pro to run via Bootcamp. Found out that I needed at least XP SP2, which my original disc didn't have. So I set about to create a slipstreamed installation disc with SP2 and I discovered that all the post-SP2 updates are now available in an SP3 Release Candidate file. So I downloaded the SP3 file here and successfully created the slipstreamed installation disc with help of some web tutorials. XP Pro SP3 is now successfully running via Bootcamp. I have not yet activated my Windows for this Mac. It's still also loaded on my old Dell PC until I can finish offloading stuff from that machine. I have no software installed in Windows yet. Just a new, clean installation. No opportunity for any viruses, etc.

So now I purchased Fusion and am having a problem trying to create the virtual machine from the Bootcamp partition. I get the error message "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer." (see attached screen capture tiff file). Sounds ominous. I tried shutting down and restarting, still won't work. I tried deleting the library Bootcamp metadata per some instructions I read searching here. Still won't work.

So what am I doing wrong? Does Windows need to be activated? (doesn't seem like that should matter) Any suggestions greatly appreciated, and please be explicit in directions. As I said, I'm a true Mac/VMWare newbie.

EDIT: I'm sorry, somehow I was in the wrong subforum for this I think. Should be under VMWare Fusion section. I'm a dope. Please move.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal