VMware Communities
jjknewrony
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Performance of Visual Studio using VMWare

Hi, I am a developer who has always used dell and toshiba products. I finally purchased a 2.4 macbook with 4GB memory. I started having second thoughts cause no one at Mac Store knew the VMWare technology. My concern is this: how will Visual Studio perform as compared to a dell laptop with 2GB memory? If it is slower, I need to think about returning the Mac and staying with Dell or some other laptop. I want to put XP Pro on the VM Ware. I am not using graphics - more number crunching, exports to Excel and socket programming. I will also be running 2 java programs along side the visual studio. These programs use sockets - but also do not use graphics. Anyone have experience with this? I was told once I open the Mac, I can't return it simply because the performance of VMWare is poor.

Any advice, prior experience is welcome. And if you need further info, I will be glad to furnish more details.

Thanks

0 Kudos
36 Replies
DerekS
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

As for spotlight, it's always running - but the question is, is it indexing?

If you installed VMWare first thing you did after booting it up, this is quite possible. It takes a couple hours to index the disk when a Mac is first powered on or reinstalled.

0 Kudos
BobTheDog
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hi,

I do all my windows dev in 2003 and 2005 on fusion, on a mac pro and a macbook pro.

The macbook pro doesn't perform that well I have always thought, setting to 1 cpu helps quite a bit. I have had discussions with support who gave me hope that version 2 would handle multi-cpus better, from what I can see it doesn't.

The advantage for me of fusion is that I can run xcode and vs at the same time, if I did not need that I may have gone with bootcamp which seems much much quicker on the macbook than fusion.

Andy

0 Kudos
Keltia
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution