VMware Communities
countryone77
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Newbie Disk Question

VMWare Fusion Build number: Version 2.0.1 (128865)

What sort of Mac you have: Mac Pro

OS X level -- not sure how to determine that (I'm a newbie on Macs) -- 10.5.x -- I do have the latest updates as of last week.

I am using VMWare Fusion on a new Mac. I created a guest OS of MS Vista Ultimate 64-bit and it is working fine. I have plans to also create a guest OS of 64-bit Linux. When I purchased this machine, I hoped to be able to install the guest OS on a 2nd hard drive. I could not see any information on how to do that in any of the documentation or in the guest OS hard disk settings.

Is there a way to place the guest OS on a 2nd hard drive?

Thanks,

Beverly Pope

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

In the final step of creating a virtual machine, Fusion asks you where to save it. Select your external drive.

Also, think of virtual machines as the (very large) files that they are. You can move them around, copy them, and so on (when Fusion isn't running - never change files out from under Fusion!) just like normal files.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

In the final step of creating a virtual machine, Fusion asks you where to save it. Select your external drive.

Also, think of virtual machines as the (very large) files that they are. You can move them around, copy them, and so on (when Fusion isn't running - never change files out from under Fusion!) just like normal files.

0 Kudos
charlesb770
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

There are several setups that your question might refer to, so I'll try to answer all of them.