VMware Communities
Csb94
Contributor
Contributor

New User Enquiry

HI All,

Hoping to get a wee bit of help here. I'm currently a student and my 5K iMac model will be arriving soon of which I'm wanting to use some form of virtualisation (such as VMWare) on so I can use Windows to use features such as Visual Studio Community.

Basically I'm enquiringly about the fusion prices. I know the normal fusion costs £61 roughly, but when I go onto the education/academic site, I can only find VMWare Fusion Pro, and it costs £74 roughly. I read somewhere that the normal fusion could be purchased cheaper for students than the £61, am I looking in the wrong place or something?

Also.. I'm planning on selling my current Windows 10 Desktop. I was wondering if, instead of having to buy a new copy of Windows, Im able to 'migrate' the current OS over to fusion (and how exactly thats done?) as I'm sure I've seen it mentioned somewhere. However, the default OS that came with the desktop was Windows 8... So I'm unsure if it would be Windows 8 or 10 that would be used. Also I don't recall obtaining a license key as the Windows 8 OS was already Preinstalled onto the desktop, so any help on that front would also be appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Darcyz
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Csb94

You can use Fusion "File->Migrate Your PC" function, it can help you to migrate your windows into VM directly.

Cheers

0 Kudos
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hello and welcome to the VMware community forum,

While you can use the option that was mentioned... it won't be legal.

Having a desktop on which a pre-installed Windows was installed, means that the Windows on there is a so called OEM version.

The OEM license is tied to the hardware it was sold with.

So even if you manage to get Windows activated, I would expect Windows activation trouble in the future.

Especially if you sell it with Windows installed.

No idea on your other question about education license prices.

--

Wil