VMware Communities
howardr
Contributor
Contributor

Moving Workstation 8 Linux OS to Fusion 4

Greetings,

I'm running Workstation 8 and created a CentOS 6.3 64bit Linux virtual machine which I would like to (migrate, move, copy, export, import) ... which ever works over to my Fusion 4 machine.

I'm new at this and I don't know how to proceed with this operation.  I've done a bunch of Google searches and see some posts about copy or ovf copies or just plain file copies to a dvd and then loading them into Fusion but I'm really not clear on the best way to proceed.

Should I do a file copy from workstation or export then a copy or import to Fusion.  Really confused as to how to go about this.  Any help with the procedure will be appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
8 Replies
fbonez
Expert
Expert

VM import from Workstation 8 to Fusion 4, can be done in several ways.

I suggest you to export from Workstation as a OVF/OVA file, then import in Fusion 4.

To import an OVF file in Fusion 4, you need the "ovftool" that you can find here: http://www.vmware.com/support/developer/ovf/

With the new Fusion 5, the import operation is more simple and straightforward without the need of external tool.

-- If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful". | @fbonez | www.thevirtualway.it
0 Kudos
howardr
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you for your reply.

Do I still have to create the entries in Fusion before restoring the OVF backup or will restoring the backup in Fusion create the needed entries to boot the new OS?

Also, was this post answered some place else and if so where?  Thanks

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal