VMware Communities
bobmusic
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Mac OSX Sierra guest -> can't install VMware Tools

Hello,

I am new to VMware Fusion and just exploring the 30 day trial.

My Host is macOS 10.15.5 Catalina on a MacBook Pro 16" (2019). As guest system I installed Mac OSX 10.12.6 Sierra.

When I try to install VMware Tools in OSX Sierra I get the following error message (translated from german):

"VMware Tools can't be installed on this drive. This version of macOS is too new."

Is there a solution for this problem?

Best regards, Robert

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
wila
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Hi Robert,

The most likely explanation was that setting. If it is set to the wrong guest OS then the wrong VMware Tools version is presented to the VM.

If a VM is imported from Parallels then you also have to uninstall Parallels Tools, but that would not trigger that particular error.

It no longer matters though.

The only thing that counts is that your problem is resolved.

--

Wil

| Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Fusion, VMware Workstation and Player |
| More info at vimalin.com | Twitter @wilva

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
wila
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Hi,

Welcome to the VMware community forums.

Can you please verify  the following configuration?

In the menu -> "Virtual Machines" -> Settings -> General -> OS

It should be set to macOS 10.12 just like in the screenshot here:

pastedImage_0.png

If it is not set to macOS 10.12 then you can change it if the VM is shut down (not suspended).

It should match your guest OS so that VMware Fusion can present the correct version of vmware tools to your guest OS.

Hope this helps,

--

Wil

| Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Fusion, VMware Workstation and Player |
0 Kudos
bobmusic
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hi Wil, thank you for help.