VMware Communities
robiso22
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Kext rejected in Fusion 10

Hi,

We had a user who upgraded to High Sierra and Fusion 10. He was getting a cannot connect to peer process on starting a VM. Looking in the console, we're getting a kernel extension security violation. Booting to recovery mode and disabling the system integrity check and then trying to get back into a fusion vm works. I'm assuming this is a bug since he has all the default security settings. This is my first time on the forum, how do I report this as a bug?

Fusion Error.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Mikero
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jump to solution

Did the user approve the KEXT from the Security preference pane?

Installing VMware Fusion triggers System Extension Blocked notification on Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra

-
Michael Roy - Product Marketing Engineer: VCF

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Mikero
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jump to solution

Did the user approve the KEXT from the Security preference pane?

Installing VMware Fusion triggers System Extension Blocked notification on Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra

-
0 Kudos
Mikero
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jump to solution

Also, you shouldn't need to disable SIP for 'normal' VMs. It's a workaround that only applies to BootCamp VMs.

-
0 Kudos
mpdharley
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I have the same issue but have not disabled SIP.  Mac security preferences display the extension blocked message; however, clicking allow does not do anything.  I have rebooted, reinstalled High Sierra, reinstalled VMware (10.0.1), removing preference and cache files (before installing again), all to no avail.

I also tried copying the VMware kext files into the /Library/Extensions directory (suggestion from Apple support).  Nothing has worked so far and my VMs are still down.

Mike

0 Kudos
Mikero
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jump to solution