VMware Communities
cmox
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Is it me? Fusion on Snow Leopard, Ubuntu 10.10: no network, no shared folders.

On my Macbook I use the current VMWare Fusion and installed Ubuntu 10.10, that worked pretty well. I am not an expert at all, I use Ubuntu only  for a very limited purpose and do not plan to make this my standard OS, but in this case I have no choice. For this work I need to share files, copy and paste text and use the  network.

But from the beginning I have these problems:

#1: Whenever I send the virtual machine to sleep and wake it up later it does not recognize the network connection any more.

#2: I share some folder on my Mac OS but I can't see them in Ubuntu. To be exact, I can only see the Mac users' public folders but not those that I added.

#3: Copy and paste between Mac OS and Ubuntu does not work.

Then I looked through the menus and found that VMWare Tools are not installed, so I started installation through the menu. The only result is that a VMWare Tools CD is downloaded and mounted - and then nothing happens.There is a text file "manifest.txt" that contains a lot of version information, and an archive that contains an installer. If I double-click that one I am getting asked with which application I want to open it. Very funny... I have no idea how to use this.

Any suggestions for a newbie?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

In the VmWare Fusion menu I can choose the folders that are on the Mac and decide whether this is for read only or read and write.

It sounds like you're using HGFS shared folders and are getting tripped up by the different way Windows and Linux handle this. In Linux, look under /mnt/hgfs to find HGFS shared folders.