VMware Communities
kevin881
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Installing Boot Camp AFTER having VMWare Fusion installed.

Hi, I am a new mac user. The "genius" at my store sold me VMWare Fusion, which I have been very happy with so far. Migrating over from Windows was scary, and Fusion provided me with the security I needed to take the plunge.

One thing is that I am an architect, and all the drafting software that my collegues use is Autodesk Autocad. So, I really have the need to boot up my Mac in Boot Camp to do some drafting now and then.

The problem is that I installed Fusion before installing Boot Camp, which I have not done yet. I was told by the "genius" that Boot Camp and Fusion can share data... but I cannot figure out if that is possible to do NOW in my situation.

Directions to a FAQ or help posted here would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Is it as simple as just deleting the file that is in: Documents > Virtual Machines > Windows XP Professional (this was what I named it)?

Yes, that is correct.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
17 Replies
ctakim
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I am in the same situation as Kevin. I can get both running but not from the same partition and installation. Any help would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
kevin881
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Bump for an answer to this question... does anyone know if it is possible to do this? If its impossible, feel free to reply... thanks!

0 Kudos
ctakim
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

For what its worth, I went back to square one, loaded Boot Camp and then reloaded Fusion to recognize the Boot Camp partition. Not the answer I wanted, but now the problem is gone. Good luck!

0 Kudos
kevin881
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Yeah, I think I am gonna have to bite the bullet and do that... bloody hell.

By the way, are you using Leopard?

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal