VMware Communities
rgoldman
Contributor
Contributor

I'm having problems migrating a XP home system to Mac OS X

I need some help. I'm new to the mac and I can't port over my Windows XP Home system.

This is what I did:

I installed Fusion onto the default Macintosh HD.

I set up sharepoints pointer to a 2 disk raid

On my XP box, I ran VMware converter and output the resulting files to the raid drive. I used the workstation 4.x option for the output. I tried the 5.x option, but I received errors and it wouldn't start. I remember about something about a power file, which it needed access to. When I pointed it to that file, it kept asking for it.

After I did the port, I opened the vmx file, and received the error: "VMFusion needs to store user preferences and other information in the directory "~/Library/Preferneces/VMwareFusion"

After I say to ignore the error, I receive the MS key message which I click ok.

I receive the debugging enabled messge (which by the way I have tried to turn off with no success....)

Finally, I receive the message "Cannot open disk "/Volumes/Raid/windows home/windows home.vnkd": Reached the host's limit for open files

I shutdown the system and try again....the same message shows up. I am running this as an Administrator...

Please help me...... I need help.....

0 Kudos
1 Reply
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Sounds to me like you are confronting two independent problems.

The first one has to do with why importing to a Workstation-5-format VM didn't work. That one confuses me, so let's work on that one first. Not only will you be happier with a newer-format VM, but also we might be able to learn something from why your attempt to create one failed. Can you post a screenshot of the error message? I'm not sure exactly what you might be referring to by a "power file." So I'd love to see a picture. Attach it to your reply post, using the "Attach Files" button you'll see below the box where you type your reply.