VMware Communities
Rocha51
Contributor
Contributor

How to permanently delete file in windows 7 virtual and decrease the size of the file (. vmwarevm).

Good afternoon everyone.
It's my first time here and I'm a basic question is the following:
VMwarefusion I use on my MAC and when I delete a file or folder inside the file Windows_7.vmwarevm Windws 7 continues with the same size.
I would really like to know how to delete a specific file or folder (EX: Songs) windows 7 and it may reduce the file Windows_7.vmwarevm.
I'm picking up a lot and I thank you from my heart to help.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Use the Shrink tab in VMware Tools, have a look at: Open the VMware Tools Control Panel

Also have a look at: Clean Up a Virtual Hard Disk

Additionally it is always good to have a known good clean backup, and Time Machine does not count, of the Virtual Machine Package before preforming any disk level operations!

==========

It is a known fact that Time Machine is not 100% reliable backing up/restoring Virtual Machines under all circumstances/conditions.  Also backing up Virtual Machines via Time Machine is disk/time intensive and wastes a tremendous amount of space for something that may be corrupt and worthless come time to restore it.  At a minimum I would exclude Virtual Machines from Time Machine and with the Virtual Machines shutdown, not suspended, and VMware Fusion closed then manually copy the Virtual Machines Package(s) to an alternate location, preferably on to a different physical hard disk.  Then keep the User Data that is stored within the Virtual Machine backed up off of the Virtual Machine on a regular basis so as to always have a current User Data Backup.  If you have to restore a properly backed up Virtual Machine that is not as current at least you'll have a working Virtual Machine and current User Data to go forward with when you find out your Time Machine Backup of the Virtual Machine fails.