VMware Communities
PsychDoc
Contributor
Contributor

How to configure "sharedFolder" manually?

How exactly does one edit the .vmx file to enable the "Shared Folder" feature in a Fedora VMware installation? Unfortunately I'm new at this, so I need to know how to designate the folder path (in each OS if necessary), the lines I should insert into the .vmx file, etc. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
blackpuma
Contributor
Contributor

Here's a sample from one of my .vmx files. I don't know what's required or optional.

sharedFolder.maxNum = "2"

sharedFolder0.enabled = "TRUE"

sharedFolder0.expiration = "never"

sharedFolder0.guestName = "Win32tmp"

sharedFolder0.hostPath = "c:\tmp\"

sharedFolder0.present = "TRUE"

sharedFolder0.readAccess = "TRUE"

sharedFolder0.writeAccess = "TRUE"

sharedFolder1.enabled = "TRUE"

sharedFolder1.expiration = "never"

sharedFolder1.guestName = "LinuxTmp"

sharedFolder1.hostPath = "/tmp"

sharedFolder1.present = "TRUE"

sharedFolder1.readAccess = "TRUE"

sharedFolder1.writeAccess = "TRUE"

Fixed copy/paste problem.

Message was edited by:

blackpuma

0 Kudos
jennyberglund
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Is there a particular reason you want to edit the .vmx file manually. Have you tried adding shared folders through the UI (Virtual Machine->Settings)? This might be the easier way to go.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Oh, maybe because the Shared Folders section of the VM Settings just says "This device will be editable in a future release."

0 Kudos
tirmidi
Contributor
Contributor

Here's a sample from one of my .vmx files. I don't

know what's required or optional.

sharedFolder.maxNum = "2"

sharedFolder0.enabled = "TRUE"

etc

Can I add these to my .vmx and comment them out like a Unix script, e.g.

\# sharedFolder0.expiration = "never"

\# sharedFolder0.guestName = "Win32tmp"

\# sharedFolder0.hostPath = "c:\tmp\"

\# sharedFolder0.present = "TRUE"

etc?

0 Kudos
DanM
Contributor
Contributor

Check out: