VMware Communities
tlrgsxr
Contributor
Contributor

How do I copy files from my Desktop to a DOS virtual machine c: drive?

With other's help I've created a DOS vm to run some ancient DOS apps, but now I need to copy them from my desktop to the C: drive in the virtual machine. Can someone give me a step by step?

Thanks, Chris

0 Kudos
22 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

copy files into an ISO and point the DOS-VM to use this ISO as CD

0 Kudos
tlrgsxr
Contributor
Contributor

I've tried that, as well as making it a floppy image, but neither seem to work. They're supposed to show up as a A:, 😧 or E: drive, correct?

Thanks, Chris

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

Maybe you haven't closed the VM while editing the vmx-file ?

0 Kudos
tlrgsxr
Contributor
Contributor

I'm new to this and I don't know what that means. What's the vmx-file?

Thanks, Chris

0 Kudos
rcardona2k
Immortal
Immortal

You can copy files to a virtual floppy on the Mac (.img), then rename to .flp and use the same method you used to install DOS to insert that virtual floppy to the virtual machine. If you create a new .flp you may have to format it, with format a: before it's usable. If OS X creates the .img, it will be formatted but the disk should be exactly 1.44MB. I have instructions on these forums.

Another choice is to download a pre-built power CD like Bart's Boot CD or Ultimate Boot CD with DOS ATAPI support so you can create an ISO on the Mac, boot into a Boot CD and copy files from the ISO you burned to C:

These same Boot CDs have LanMan support which will allow you mount a Windows share from your OS X box if the share is 8.3 name compatible. You have to know your "net use" command syntax but it definitely works.

Sorry DOS is so ancient and pretty hard to deal with, it amazes it once ruled the desktop.

0 Kudos
tlrgsxr
Contributor
Contributor

Maybe the problem I had was they weren't exactly 1.44mb.

I've created a virtual floppy, but how do I copy files to it?