VMware Communities
jhhaze
Contributor
Contributor

Help Recovering Files from Corrupt VMWare Fusion Image

I know this is a bit of a shot in the dark, but, I recently encountered this message when trying to load a vmware image (windows 10 on a macbook air)

The disk '/Users/jackhaze/Documents/Virtual Machines.localized/Windows 10 x64.vmwarevm/Virtual Disk.vmdk' has one or more internal errors that cannot be fixed.

Restore from a backup copy of this disk.

The specified virtual disk needs repair

Cannot open the disk '/Users/jackhaze/Documents/Virtual Machines.localized/Windows 10 x64.vmwarevm/Virtual Disk.vmdk' or one of the snapshot disks it depends on.

Module 'Disk' power on failed.

Failed to start the virtual machine.

I am just a novice, but, through some internet searches attempted to...

Jacks-MacBook-Air:~ jackhaze$ sudo /Applications/VMware\ Fusion.app/Contents/Library/vmware-vdiskmanager -R /Users/jackhaze/Documents/Virtual\ Machines.localized/Windows\ 10\ x64.vmwarevm/Virtual\ Disk.vmdk

but got the following response....

The virtual disk, '/Users/jackhaze/Documents/Virtual Machines.localized/Windows 10 x64.vmwarevm/Virtual Disk.vmdk', is corrupted and cannot be repaired.

Jacks-MacBook-Air:~ jackhaze$

I'm at a loss.  I would like to recover some files from the desktop, documents, and downloads if at all possible.  I have created a support file, but it is too large to attah.  Please advise.

This all started when I apparently ran out of disk space.  No matter what I did it would not let me delete files to free up space.  It was like a popup from hell.  As a result, I tried to first increase the image size by 5gb, but, after that didn't work I tried to use a clean up feature from virtual machines, get info (on the top tool bar).  Ever since I have gotten the error messages above.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you kindly. ~ Jack

0 Kudos
5 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,